Servpro vs. PuroClean vs. 1-800 WATER DAMAGE
Three restoration franchises: one with no Item 19 and two with detailed sales distributions. Every figure below comes from each brand’s own Franchise Disclosure Document, with its evidence tier. Where a brand did not disclose something, the cell says so.
Servpro (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $263,305 to $385,570. Royalty: 3%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; cap / limit applies; multiple components; see schedule). Advertising: Up to 3% of gross sales (cap / limit applies; conditions apply). Recurring requirements vary; see the profile fee schedule. There is no Item 19 financial performance representation. Franchised outlets moved from 2,114 to 2,354 between 2023 and 2025 (+240), with 271 openings, 32 exits and 382 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
PuroClean (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $108,503 to $277,118. Royalty: 3%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; multiple components; see schedule). Advertising: 2% of gross sales (cap / limit applies; conditions apply). Recurring requirements vary; see the profile fee schedule. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $941,644 across 393 units for CY2025. Franchised outlets moved from 349 to 433 between 2023 and 2025 (+84), with 141 openings, 57 exits and 42 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
1-800 WATER DAMAGE (2026 FDD) lists a total initial investment of $142,903 to $312,398. Royalty: 7%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; conditions apply). Advertising: 2% of gross sales. Recurring requirements vary; see the profile fee schedule. Item 19 reports average unit sales of $770,375 across 78 units for 2025-12-31. Franchised outlets moved from 167 to 160 between 2023 and 2025 (-7), with 47 openings, 54 exits and 23 transfers. Evidence confidence: High.
| Metric | Servpro | PuroClean | 1-800 WATER DAMAGE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Overview | |||
| Category | Home services FDD | Home services FDD | Home services FDD |
| FDD year | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD | 2026 FDD |
| Total outlets (latest FY) | 2,354 FDD | 433 FDD | 160 FDD |
| Investment | |||
| Total investment (Item 7) | $263,305 – $385,570 FDD | $108,503 – $277,118 FDD | $142,903 – $312,398 FDD |
| Initial franchise fee (named Item 5 fee only) | $100,000 FDD | $59,000 FDD | $64,950 FDD |
| Fees | |||
| Royalty | 3%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; cap / limit applies; multiple components; see schedule) FDD | 3%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; multiple components; see schedule) FDD | 7%–10% of gross sales (tiered; minimum applies; conditions apply) FDD |
| Ad / brand fund | Up to 3% of gross sales (cap / limit applies; conditions apply) FDD | 2% of gross sales (cap / limit applies; conditions apply) FDD | 2% of gross sales FDD |
| Royalty + ad fund Only unqualified percentages on the same sales basis, without additional required local/co-op advertising. Other fees remain separate. |
Variable / not comparable — see components N/D | Variable / not comparable — see components N/D | Variable / not comparable — see components N/D |
| Disclosed performance | |||
| Item 19 present | No FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Average unit sales (annual) Populations differ by brand — read each profile |
No Item 19 N/D | $941,644 FDD | $770,375 FDD |
| Median unit sales | Not disclosed N/D | $500,496 FDD | $481,891 FDD |
| Cost / profit data in Item 19 | No FDD | No FDD | No FDD |
| AUV ÷ midpoint investment | Not enough evidence N/D | 4.88× Derived | 3.38× Derived |
| System health (Item 20) | |||
| Franchised unit change | +240 (+11.4%) 2023–2025 Derived | +84 (+24.1%) 2023–2025 Derived | -7 (-4.2%) 2023–2025 Derived |
| Openings (period) | 271 FDD | 141 FDD | 47 FDD |
| Exits (period) Terminations + non-renewals + reacquisitions + ceased-other |
32 Derived | 57 Derived | 54 Derived |
| Avg. annual attrition | 0.5% Derived | 4.9% Derived | 10.3% Derived |
| Transfers (period) | 382 FDD | 42 FDD | 23 FDD |
| Operations | |||
| Owner involvement (Item 15) | Owner-operator required FDD | Owner-operator required FDD | Owner-operator required FDD |
| Multi-unit program disclosed | Yes FDD | Yes FDD | Yes FDD |
| Estimates | |||
| Economics model available | No (insufficient disclosure) | Yes — model estimate on profile | Yes — model estimate on profile |
| Ratings | |||
| Financial Disclosure Quality | 1 / 5 Derived | 4 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived |
| System Growth | 4 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 2 / 5 Derived |
| Unit Stability | 5 / 5 Derived | 3 / 5 Derived | 1 / 5 Derived |
| Investment Efficiency | Not enough evidence Derived | 5 / 5 Derived | 5 / 5 Derived |
| Evidence Confidence | High Derived | High Derived | High Derived |
Populations behind AUV figures differ (mature units, all units, gross vs. net sales). Growth and attrition are our arithmetic on Item 20. Open each profile for citations, caveats and the full Item 19 and Item 20 tables. Edit this comparison to swap brands.